Skip to content

caught the fashion bug

February 10, 2011

Hi beauties! You all seemed to really enjoy the fashiony post yesterday, huh? I attribute this in large part to the fact that for once I was talking about something other than my adoration for banana scrambles and peanut flour. Sheesh – this blog has become so one-toned. I must change this!

I’ve noticed a lot of ladies have been merging in to the fashion blogger domain and I, for one, love it! Who says we can only post about oatmeal and workout routines?

I think I may have caught the fashion bug myself so I’m thinking, if you’re interested, I might be doing some more fashion inspired posts in the future. What do you think?

Hopefully you *think* it’s a good idea, because I’m coming atcha with a fashion post right now. Woo!

Today’s attire:

  • White Tee: Like, $3 for a 5 pack at walmart. Such a great investment – I wear these all the time!
  • Gray vest: $10 at Walmart (oh, and it’s Hannah Montana brand which makes it that much more glamorous)
  • Gray and red striped scarf: **free!** (a gift from Gingie’s mom last Christmas. Does she have taste or what?)

On my bottom half I rocked…

    recycled pic from my birthday

  • black spandex: $5 from TJmaxx
  • knee high boots: $70 from this site (a Christmas present from “santa”)

Total: $88 with the boots, $18 without. Woo!

This outfit made me feel like Avril Lavigne. Or Pete Wentz. Whatever, the masculine look is in anyway, right?

Regardless, I think whipping out the white tee in the midst of February was slightly premature. I was freezing throughout my entire Education in the US class and ended up just wearing my jacket the whole time, leaving my attire completely unnoticed. In my opinion, there is nothing worse than a wasted outfit.

Except like, cancer…or the crisis in Egypt…or Christina Aguilera at the Super Bowl

But other than that, there’s definitely nothing worse!

~~

Now I have a few blog questions to ask you, so i’d love if you all allowed me to borrow your brains for a minute!

  1. Would you like to see more fashion related posts? If so, are you in to the whole “daily outfit” thing, or would you simply prefer tips and random musings? When I say “daily outfit” I pretty much mean 3 times a week, max. Sometimes I don’t like to get dressed, which is the beauty of being a college student. Sweats and spandex are completely acceptable.
  2. If you’re interested in the “daily outfit” thing, would you like to see prices and brands of them items or do you not care much about that kind of thing? I’ll be completely honest in saying that very few of the items I purchase for myself are more than $20 and I would love to share with you all that cheap and chic are most definitely not oxymorons.
  3. I’m also considering starting up a facebook page but am curious if it’s really “worth it”?
  4. Is there anything else you’d like to see on here? I’m opened to anything!

Thanks so much guys! As much as I wish I could live by the mantra “this is my blog and I’ll do what I want”, PB&J would be absolutely nothing without my readers so I want to be sure to include content that interests you guys!

~~

Off to prep dinner for my night class! I’m thinking a chicken salad wrap with FSTG chips and a simply bar for dessert πŸ™‚

Until tomorrow…

34 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2011 11:18 pm

    #1 – I am a nursing student by day, waitress and gym rat by night, so fashion is not my thing *right now* (scrubs all day, uniform/sweats all night!) BUT I like looking at pics of outfits to get ideas for the one day every three months that I put some effort and creativity into my attire πŸ˜‰ So 3x/week would be perfect for that!

    #2 – yes please!

    #3 – couldn’t tell ya. I got rid of mine a few months ago.

    #4 – more of the same, please!! πŸ™‚

    • Jenny permalink*
      February 11, 2011 3:16 am

      three of my best friends here at school are nurses too!! Let’s just say they LIVE for the weekends when they can unveil their style πŸ™‚

  2. February 10, 2011 11:48 pm

    yayyyyyy, i’m so glad someone else is wearing vests, because i have one sitting in my closet ready to wear but so afraid to. looking so adorbs!

  3. February 11, 2011 12:02 am

    Seriously girl, I love the fashion posts, and I know it’s so cliched to say this, but really- write about what makes you tick, because that’s always evident in a post and makes people WANT to read. It’s why there’s no set formula for blogging- what works for one person might not work for another. I think your ‘fit posts definitely WORK, so if you feel inspired to do so, then by all means go for it!! Though I’ll probably be feeling guilty when I read your cheap and chic looks, considering I tend to spend a lot of money on individual pieces 😦

    As for the FB page, think about it long and hard. I know you already post your blog posts to FB, but I had a conversation with my dad about putting my own bloggie on FB a few weeks ago and he was like…do it if you want, but then you’re not allowed to get upset if it gets back to you that people are talking in a not-so-nice way about it. I feel like your skin is thicker than mine in that department, but it definitely made me think twice- I’m “friends” with a lot of people on FB, and while I know I have my friends’ support, my blog is my happy place and I don’t want frenemies to hate on it, no matter how much I think I’m above that!

    Whew! Long comment. Bottom line: do what YOU want, because the best blogs truly are the ones where you can tell the author loves writing each and every post.

    LOVE YOU!!

    • Jenny permalink*
      February 11, 2011 3:20 am

      girl you are RIGHT ON!!! I know that I need to post for myself first – but I guess I’m just hoping to get some inspiration from the feedback. I’ve just felt like my posts have been so dull lately.

      p.s. thanks for your two cents on FB. I think I may refrain – it just doesn’t seem worth it.

  4. February 11, 2011 12:09 am

    I like Gabriella’s “bottom line”. I think it says it all! It is very easy to distinguish passionate posts from ‘chore posts’. I’ve dissociated myself from a lot of blogs because of, what appeared to be, words typed from necessity. I’m all about PASSION. Always and foevaaa

  5. Allison permalink
    February 11, 2011 12:50 am

    Hi Jenny,

    I am a fashionista like you that loves a good bargain and rarely spends more than 25 dollars on a piece of clothing. I would really love it if you could post your daily outfits with brands and prices. It is very inspirational, especially as a college student! Of course I love all of your posts.

  6. February 11, 2011 12:57 am

    I love seeing fashion, photography, basically other things besides JUST food. Food gets…well, food-ey. And you’ve seen one bowl of oatmeal, you’ve seen 10,000 bowls πŸ™‚

    I love the fashion ideas and i want to know why you like it, where you bought it, and if it’s comfortable. Not just cute πŸ™‚ lol Comfort is important and like if you’d recommend this item to others type thing.

    FB page. Have one. Just started it. Have done zero with it. Dont see the point…but i started it anyway. hah!

  7. February 11, 2011 1:10 am

    That vest is SO cute!! I was shocked when I saw Hannah Montana and Walmart after it πŸ˜› White t’s are also a star in my summer wardrobe.
    And considering the fact that my “style” has pretty much deteriorated since I started working and riding more, I’d love to see your fashion posts. Especially because I love your fashionsense!

  8. February 11, 2011 1:13 am

    Love that vest. I agree, nothing worse than a wasted outfit. For example, the other day I had a business meeting and my outfit and jewelry was bangin’. I was really cold but refused to put on my jacket since my outfit rocked.
    I would love to see more fashion stuff. I like what you’re doing with the prices and everything too.
    Also…again, loved the vest but made me think of that Mean Girls line…
    Karen: “Like that time I wore a vest?”
    Regina: “That vest was hideous!”

  9. February 11, 2011 1:16 am

    I love the fashion posts – you have great style and your photos make it even better! That being said, I still like the gorgeous foodie pictures, too!

  10. February 11, 2011 1:18 am

    Facebook pages are definitely worth it! And I love the fashion posts around lately!

  11. Amanda permalink
    February 11, 2011 1:23 am

    love the fashion posts! so yes ‘daily’ outfits would be fab! and prices/stores as well, you find the cutest stuff! πŸ™‚

  12. February 11, 2011 1:24 am

    of course i would love to see some more of your fashion..because you have awesome style! but i also still need to see all of your yummy eats πŸ˜‰

  13. February 11, 2011 1:32 am

    Definite yes on more fashion posts! I love seeing the “daily outfit” type thing. I wouldn’t mind (but wouldn’t be thrilled with) fashion advice, but I think pictures just showing what you wear are always fun! I also like to know where something came from in case I want to go pick it up!

  14. February 11, 2011 2:01 am

    remember last year when i loved your dsw brown suede boots, asked you where you got them, stalked them out and purchased? haha well i just found them in my closet yesterday. so excited to rekindle my love with them

  15. Lindsey permalink
    February 11, 2011 2:35 am

    I would love to see daily outfit posts, including where you bought them. But I still love your delicious looking breakfasts!

  16. February 11, 2011 2:38 am

    I would love if you added more fashion to the blog, and I’d be happy with random musings or daily outfits. I’m terrible at putting outfits together and need some inspiration!

  17. Meagan permalink
    February 11, 2011 2:53 am

    I love your fashion sense! AMAZING! I’d like to see more about yoga, I’m a new yogini and I really want to learn how to get better!

  18. February 11, 2011 2:58 am

    I love your style. It is always classic, cute, unique and out together. Can you believe Pet Wnetz and the Misses are getting DIVORCED? i cant either. the boy said he saw it on the news…ahhhh.

    anywoo

    xoxo
    Lo

    • Jenny permalink*
      February 11, 2011 3:21 am

      dude – somehow I thought they would actually make it. Hollywood is cursed.

  19. February 11, 2011 3:10 am

    Yes, I would love to see more fashion posts and with the brands so that I know where to hunt down cute clothing πŸ™‚ Daily outfits are always welcome as well.

  20. Emily permalink
    February 11, 2011 3:15 am

    I would love to see more fashion posts! Your sense of style is so unique yet still classic–wait, does that make sense?! Anyway, I’d love to get ideas from you, so prices and brands are encouraged by me!

    As far as the FB page goes, I personally don’t really tune into any blog FB pages. I read a handful of blogs as well as follow las chicas on twitter, so FB just seems to be redundant. That’s just me though! I don’t have my own blog so clearly I don’t know the benefits it may bring you.

    Either way, don’t change anything you’re currently doing cause I love it! Just add some more fash-eeeee-on

  21. February 11, 2011 4:30 am

    You should definitely start posting fashion! I would love to see the prices and brands as well! Can’t wait!

  22. February 11, 2011 4:33 am

    Honestly, I keep coming back because I love your photography and the open and easy going way you write. Your food and clothing don’t always resonate with me, but I like hearing how you’re doing and how the choices you made make you happy.

  23. February 11, 2011 5:01 am

    I’ve been posting more fashion too! Always good to mix things up!

    P.S.- I WISH my photos looked like yours. Amazing, girl!

  24. Ruby W. permalink
    February 11, 2011 7:18 am

    Frugal and chic has always been my motto. I love your fashion posts. You have a great sense of style!

  25. February 11, 2011 3:36 pm

    I literally only wear sweats and workout pants…but I love seeing your frugal fashions!! My H&M, TJ Maxx and Marshall’s are all NEXT DOOR to each other…so amazing πŸ˜€ I just snagged a denim vesty and I’m so pumped to bust it out…hurrrry spring before denim vests are out ;D

  26. February 11, 2011 4:07 pm

    I, for one, LOVE random musings.

    I try to put some in my blog, because I get a little tired of reading about food and workouts. yes, I love them, and yes, we all do them and blog about them, but I like each blog for what makes it UNIQUE.

  27. February 11, 2011 6:55 pm

    1. I would definitely like to see more fashion related posts. I get so many ideas that way! Daily outfit, tips, musings, whatever. I’m game for it all.
    2. Seeing as you actually seem to shop like me (i.e. No shirts worth more than your house!), I wouldn’t mind seeing the prices and brands.
    3. I’m sorry but I wouldn’t do anything with a fb page. My blog is anonymous so I don’t “like” anything on fb that could lead anyone to my blog, even in a roundabout way. But I’m sure there are tons of ladies who would love a fb option!
    4. Just keep up the good work! πŸ™‚

  28. Beth @ bride in the little white dress permalink
    February 11, 2011 8:30 pm

    Yes, I would love to see more fashion related posts ( and daily outfits) on PB and J! Love getting different fashion ideas from all the gals out there. πŸ™‚

  29. February 12, 2011 3:36 am

    do a FB page, it is sooo much easier for me to read blogs clicking off FB than actually keeping up with my reader πŸ™‚

Trackbacks

  1. I’ve got a craving… « Peanut Butter and Jenny

Leave a comment