Skip to content

killing two birds with one stone

February 9, 2011

Talk about efficiency!

This AM I decided to kill two birds with one stone and incorporate a bit of  morning hygiene with an interview I was assigned to watch for my psychology class about the discovery on DNA.

It was just as riveting as it sounds.

Let’s just say trying to take artsy pictures of my toothbrush under ridiculously awful artificial lighting proved to be more exciting.


I am a loyal crest paste fan. Gels make me gag. (Because I’m sure you were wondering)

Fortunately for me, God’s blessed natural lighting was peeking it’s way in to my room as soon as snack time rolled around.

Cheerios, peanut flour, chia seeds, strawberries.

Milk was poured atop post-photography session for the sake of avoiding soggy cereal-age. I really need an obowl

~~

I had absolutely zero motivation to dress myself this morning, so I tredged out to the mall in the dawning yoga pants, northface, and my favorite coach kicks.

Because I like to convince that I can be both cheap and chic, I refuse to pay full price for name brand items – yet another reason why I love TJmaxx.

p.s. I kept the price tag on these shoes just so I can flaunt to people how thrifty I am. I’m such a cheap snob.

At the mall I was welcomed by store windows adorned with hints of florals and pastels that somehow made their way back to my apartment.

floral denim skirt and lace vest that will be worn together, and separately, and probably way too often.

floral tee with bow tie back and ruffle sleeve details

black lace skirt and cream cardigan for when I’m feeling business woman-y.

Spring is a’coming…I can feel it in my gut! Or maybe that’s just gas.

~~

Are you a fan of multi-tasking or do you prefer to focus all of your attention on one task at a time? When’s the last time you “killed two birds with one stone”?

**sidenote: this blog does not condone the killing of actual birds, just metaphoric ones.

~~

On the agenda for my night: dinner, homework, boob tube, and celebrating getting over the hump day slump. Woo!


31 Comments leave one →
  1. Emily permalink
    February 9, 2011 11:26 pm

    I have to multi talk. I find I get bored if I focus on just one thing …. hmm is that the common description of ADD?!?

    Are all those clothes from Forever21? If so, my tookus is getting there hmmmm tomorrow

    • Jenny permalink*
      February 9, 2011 11:36 pm

      Yes they are! they’re spring line is amazing!!! Go go goooooo.

  2. Jenny permalink*
    February 9, 2011 11:35 pm

    Yes they are! they’re spring line is amazing!!! Go go goooooo.

  3. February 9, 2011 11:49 pm

    Your snack is so freaking cute for some reason! And TJ Maxx is amazing. I want spring to be here soon! Well, actually I’ll be in the midst of summer in one week when I go to Australia. CRAZY!

    • Jenny permalink*
      February 10, 2011 1:41 am

      Eep!! I forgot the trip was so soon! Have you started packing yet??? I’m so jealy!

  4. Michelle @ Give Me the Almond Butter permalink
    February 10, 2011 12:07 am

    I’m a natural multitasker–I mean that I always multitask, not that I’m good at it. I wish I could focus on one thing as much as possible because I feel so much more productive.

    But hey, yesterday I caught up on my Pretty Little Liars on Hulu and repainted my chipped toenails.

    Haha I’m a great example.

  5. February 10, 2011 12:11 am

    your sidenote CRACKS ME UP. counting down until spring. I went to Bloomies yesterday and tried on 234234 things I want but refuse to purchase.

  6. Therese permalink
    February 10, 2011 12:33 am

    Jenny! I have been following you for some time now and have only just gotten the guts to comment on your posts haha I love when you do “hauls” from tj maxx! puts me in a swell mood. Also I just started following you on twitter (treeslouise. love your blog(and your dishware)! 🙂

    • Jenny permalink*
      February 10, 2011 1:42 am

      Yay! thanks so much for “stopping by” Therese. With my newly acquired TJmaxx gift cards that I got for my birthday I promise there will be plenty more TJ’s hauls in the future 🙂 (including dishware!)

  7. February 10, 2011 12:42 am

    The “fluff” on those Coach kicks is….amazing. I’ve never seen anything like it! I want.

  8. February 10, 2011 12:53 am

    don’t be ashamed of being a cheap snob 😉 it’s always great when you can find super deals!
    and OMG i just looked at that Obol bowl..so cool. never heard of it before.
    and yes i sure hope spring is comin alonggg 🙂 sick of this snow!
    jenna

  9. February 10, 2011 1:21 am

    i love love love your fashion and tj maxx posts!! they always make me smile!! i need a jobby so i can head back therE!! it has been MONTHS

  10. February 10, 2011 1:37 am

    multitasking and killing four birds with one stone is my middle name 🙂

    hey i noticed you have a macbook…do you use the regular WP blogging platform or do you use Ecto or something else? I would lovvvve for a way to speed things up but am so far very meh with ecto the few times ive tried it. I figure you have a snazzy fast way of doing things since you’re a multitasker too 🙂

  11. February 10, 2011 1:46 am

    I’m always multitasking…it’s kind bad! LOVE your new purchases. Florals this spring are awesomeee

  12. Tammy permalink
    February 10, 2011 1:53 am

    1. Your fashion sense is the best.
    2. I need an Obol now! Too bad my frugalness won’t let me shell out the $$

  13. February 10, 2011 2:28 am

    I always love your finds from my seconds favorite TJ’s (Trader Joes is number one). I have a lot of trouble finding cute shirts, but I always find amazing shoes.

    I’ve never heard of an obowl, but now I’m convinced it is a necessity.

  14. February 10, 2011 2:54 am

    Why didn’t I think of the oBol? How cool!

    Cute shoes! I love them!

  15. Meagan permalink
    February 10, 2011 3:03 am

    I am a fellow bargainista! It literally pains me to buy anything full-price.

    PS The right side of your blog is a lil’ funky, everything is shifted over and covers the post 😦 Just thought I’d let you know

    • Jenny permalink*
      February 10, 2011 4:47 am

      hey Megan – thanks for the 411!! I think my pictures were a little too large and in charge. Is it better now?!

  16. February 10, 2011 4:45 am

    I think we would be friends in real life.

    I watched the obol video and it is fantastic! I WANT ONE NOWWW.

    Also, I am a huuuge bargain shopper. Marshall’s, T.J. Maxx, and Ross are my saviors. Oh, and thrift stores obviously.

    aaand i have the same computer as you (oh, and I’m watching you. look out your window….KIDDING ahahahah that would be super weird

    • Jenny permalink*
      February 10, 2011 4:48 am

      coco – we would most definitely be friends in real life.. then we could ichat together on our macbooks and eat out of obols. It would be fabulous!

  17. February 10, 2011 12:46 pm

    You always make the most boring situations fun haha. And looooove those shoes! I wish the closest TJ’s wasn’t 2 hours away :-/

    • Jenny permalink*
      February 10, 2011 2:01 pm

      that’s heartbreaking! 😦 do you have a Marshall’s near you? same difference 🙂

  18. February 10, 2011 1:32 pm

    I love multitasking, but I have to say that I kind of suck at it and should probably just try to do one thing at once. I get distracted way too easily.

    Spring BETTER be right around the corner or the groundhog LIED. I can deal with like 4 more weeks, but then it better be sunny and warm!

  19. Little Bookworm permalink
    February 10, 2011 2:06 pm

    I love multitasking. 🙂 Love the shoes as well!

  20. February 10, 2011 3:48 pm

    You always have such chic cheap finds.

  21. February 10, 2011 4:31 pm

    Bathroom photos are the hardest…and you even took yours with your eyes shut. Talent!

    I am a cheap snob to the extreme. I’d laminate those TJ Maxx/Marshalls clearance tags if I could.

  22. February 10, 2011 7:34 pm

    Ugh, I generally hate gel toothpaste, too…but If you want a really intense foaming brushing session, try aquafresh iso-active. It’s pretty ridiculously awesome. I wish I could say I was kidding that I’m taking toothpaste this seriously, but I’m so serious right now.
    (OH! And re: vital wheat gluten. It’s basically the natural protein found in wheat. I use bob’s red mill, but I’m sure you can find a couple different brands in the flour section of your supermarket 🙂

  23. February 10, 2011 9:51 pm

    I was at forever 21 today and it was amazing : ) I bought some good stuff but didnt go to crazy since I see no sun in sight yet! lol!

    I hate GEL toothpaste too! Glad to see someone else shares this ; )

    Love ya girl! xoxo

  24. February 11, 2011 9:11 pm

    I am forever multitasking! Just doesn’t seem normal to focus on only one thing at a time! 😉

    Oh my goodness, that’s the first I’ve ever heard of the “Obowl”! Too funny…and waaaaay expensive! They think pretty highly of their creation, don’t they?

Trackbacks

  1. caught the fashion bug « Peanut Butter and Jenny

Leave a comment