Skip to content

{not} sleeping beauty

February 21, 2011

I had the best sleep last night and I have Gingie to thank for that. I told him that I’ve been having some trouble falling asleep (and staying asleep) at night, so he recommended I drink this tea before bed. Perhaps it was the placebo effect but I swear, I haven’t had such a restful sleep in weeks!

Thanks Dr. Gingie πŸ˜‰

I woke up feeling refreshed, energized, and hungry.


Oatgurt!

  • 1/2 cup oatmeal
  • 1 cup coconut milk
  • cinnamon and vanilla extract
  • drizzle of honey
  • vanilla chobani
  • sprinkled with flaxseed.


an array of berries and TJ’s cinnamon grahams with Teddie’s peanut butter. This was my last graham and potentially the last one I’ll be eating for a very long time, but I’ll explain that later πŸ™‚


Coffee, naturally. Do we love the new cup and saucer set? Because I love the new cup and saucer set.

For some reason this breakfast reminded me of summer time – though the recent snowfall unfortunately snaps me back to reality. Ew.

~~

**Do you ever have trouble sleeping? Any good tips to help fall asleep?** I know for me a huge reason why I can’t fall asleep at night is because I start thinking about what I want to eat for breakfast the next morning. Forget all the work I have to do or how much I miss Gingie and my mom….oatmeal or pancakes – these are the things that keep me up at night.

I found this list of 10 tips for better sleep, which kind of explains why I may have such a difficult time falling catching some z’s at night.

  1. Go to bed and get up at about the same time every day, even on the weekends. I’m in college – this is not happening.
  2. Don’t eat or drink large amounts before bedtime: I usually eat my last “meal” about 2 hours before bed, so I don’t think this should have an effect on my sleepage.
  3. Avoid nicotine, caffeine and alcohol in the evening: Check (for the most part)
  4. Exercise regularly. Check
  5. Make your bedroom cool, dark, quiet and comfortable. Hmm, cool (check) dark (check) comfortable (check) quiet, not so much. I live in an apartment with primarily college students. I also live 1/2 a block away from a fire station so trucks and sirens are always going off at night.
  6. Sleep primarily at night. Check. I can’t nap if I try. Once I’m up – I’m up for good.
  7. Choose a comfortable mattress and pillow. Check! Last year my family and I took a trip to Boston and I told my dad how obsessed I was with the pillows at the Weston hotel so for my birthday my dad actually called the hotel and asked which pillows they used and he bought me one. I love him. It’s like sleeping on a cloud.
  8. Start a relaxing bedtime routine. I think I just started one last night! A cup of chamomile about 1/2 an hour before bed while “winding down” with computer browsing or trash TV.
  9. Go to bed when you’re tired and turn out the lights. This is my problem – I’m rarely ever “tired” for some reason, so I have to force myself in to bed. Then I get discouraged when I can’t fall asleep and it’s game over. I get really anxious and feel so alone… like I’m the only person on earth who’s still awake. It’s a weird feeling.
  10. Use sleeping pills only as a last resort. Don’t use ’em.

Looks like I have some work to do!

~~

Alright kiddos, I’m off to start the day (and week!). My room has gotten out of control so I’m dedicating my morning to cleaning, working out, and and catching up on some homework before class at 2. Enjoy the day!

31 Comments leave one →
  1. February 21, 2011 3:05 pm

    I had some trouble sleeping last week, before my exam. A midnight snack and some milk calm me down usually, so I can sleep better πŸ™‚

  2. Little Bookworm permalink
    February 21, 2011 3:05 pm

    Great tips Jenny!

  3. February 21, 2011 3:12 pm

    I eat oatgurt alllll theee time!! so glad you appreciate it too πŸ™‚

  4. February 21, 2011 3:17 pm

    I heard that if you are using electronics or have artificial (LCD) lights coming from your alarm clock/phone that it doesnt give you good rest/or you are not able to sleep. I have kind of experimented with this theory and found it to be VERY true. If my phone goes off when Im trying to make myself sleep, and I check it, Im wide awake again. Or if I check blogs right before bed, its game over.
    Id try reading or doing something else before bed and seeing if that helps!

  5. February 21, 2011 3:26 pm

    I need that list for tonight!

  6. February 21, 2011 3:48 pm

    Awww, Ginge!! I hate tossing and turning in bed so I usually stay up until I am so tired that I fall asleep immediately. I also read something super boring, which always works. That’s a habit I picked up in school…I could always fall asleep while reading textbooks.

  7. February 21, 2011 4:02 pm

    I started sleeping better when I stopped drinking ANY caffeine and made sure to get plenty of fats during the day. But I think you already do those, so hopefully the tea can help!

  8. February 21, 2011 4:26 pm

    What a good boyfriend πŸ™‚ I have had a hard time sleeping lately too! I’m not sure why though – I will have to try Dr. Gingies recommendation.

  9. Therese permalink
    February 21, 2011 4:38 pm

    LOVE the cup and saucer! my tjmaxx/marshalls are terrible in the home goods department. i have gone to both multiple times in the past couple of weeks in hopes of finding some nice coffee mugs or tea cups with no luck. the search continues…

  10. February 21, 2011 4:59 pm

    I’ve dealt with serious insomnia for several extended periods in my life, and it sucks. I’m still not a great sleeper, but the things I’ve found really help are 1) limiting sugar before bed (I have dessert, and then try not to eat anything sweet as a bedtime snack), 2) dimming the lights for an hour or so before bed, and 3) not doing anything super-stimulating right before I go to sleep. Oh, and as hard as it is, I agree with #1- I try not to go to bed after 2 or wake up after 8!

  11. February 21, 2011 5:28 pm

    ughhh not sleeping is the worst but i’m SO glad you got such a great sleep in! yayy πŸ™‚

    oooh the return of yoooatgurrrrrrrrt!

  12. February 21, 2011 6:09 pm

    Great tips! I really try to not look at computer/tv/phone screen right before bed, otherwise my mind races!

  13. February 21, 2011 6:19 pm

    i have the hardest time falling asleep and staying asleep, too! once i’m up, i’m UP. it doesn’t matter how tired i am. what i’ve found the most useful is avoiding the television and the computer screen about an hour or two before bed time. the brightness from the screen activates brain activity and keeps you up! usually i like to dim the lights because it releases the sleeping chemical responsible for bringing on the yawns (aka tiredness!)! so i generally read for a half hour to an hour before bed in my dimly lit room. it really helps! good luck πŸ™‚

  14. Michelle @ Give Me the Almond Butter permalink
    February 21, 2011 6:32 pm

    I was SO bad with going to bed at the same time. Friday and Saturday night I went to bed at 2AM and last night I was exhausted and went to bed at 9!!!

    At least I do try to wake up with in an hour each time though.

  15. February 21, 2011 6:53 pm

    those berries look amazing, makes me excited for summer!

  16. February 21, 2011 7:27 pm

    I love oatgurt! friends tell me I’m a weirdo, but the mix of textures really floats my boat. πŸ˜‰

    p.s. I have the “rarely tired” problem at night, too. I’m a natural night owl, so putting myself to sleep at a decent hour is like trying to get a 6 year old to take a nap.

  17. Allison permalink
    February 21, 2011 8:57 pm

    I love, love, love oats & 0% Greek yogurt or cottage cheese… 1/2 c oats cooked on the stove with 1 1/2 c water [makes a hugeee bowl!], topped with 1/2 c 0% Greek yogurt (lightly sweetened w/ cinnamon & TJ’s peanut flour), Kashi Go Lean, & berries… YUMMM!

  18. February 21, 2011 9:17 pm

    I tend not to have trouble falling asleep. Like you, it’s the STAYING asleep that I have trouble with. Although, lately I’ve been sleeping well πŸ™‚ (Let’s hope it lasts!)

    Sweet dreaaaaams!!

  19. February 21, 2011 10:02 pm

    heyyyy, sometimes i take melnatonin (it’s a natural substance in your brain) in pill form and that lets you relax. but i do also use tea alot! that seems to help me. and i have my heated blanket under my fitted sheet and i turn it on about 10 mins before i get in bed and it’s amazing πŸ™‚

  20. February 22, 2011 12:25 am

    For me, it’s all about unplugging from technology a few hours before bed (except for TV, of course ;)). Being on the computer makes my mind race more than I realize, so shutting it down is crucial to being able to fall asleep!

  21. February 22, 2011 12:26 am

    I’m off and on! Sometimes I sleep great, other times I just lay there for hours, only making myself stay up even later because I start getting nervous that if I don’t fall asleep soon I’ll be exhausted the next day, and just work myself into a panic πŸ˜› Lately I’ve had a lot of energy at night, but I still manage to fall asleep. Of course, I also have a big bowl of cereal right before bed and want my room toasty warm to sleep in, so I guess I shouldn’t complain πŸ˜›

  22. February 22, 2011 12:35 am

    Never tried oatgurt, your breakfasts always look so yummy πŸ˜€

  23. February 22, 2011 2:51 am

    I count backwards from 300 by 3’s. Usually my mind will drift off and I’ll fall asleep, or I’ll realize I lost track and start over until I drift off. It usually works. If i’m super anxious or something, I play games on read until my eyes get heavy.

  24. February 22, 2011 4:46 am

    I often have trouble falling asleep… Sometimes I take half a tablet (1.5 mg) of melatonin as I find it helps me sink into a natural sleep — not that crazy stuff that Tylenol PM and the like bring on.

    I also make sure not to consume too many carbs within about an hour of bedtime; I can’t sleep and digest at the same time… as a bedtime snack I usually have some peanuts, almonds or peanut butter. Lots of slow-digesting fats — so I don’t wake up hungry at 2am!

  25. February 22, 2011 11:11 am

    Just to sound like a crazy yogi, the past few days, it was leading up to the full moon, which has now since passed. The excess prana, i.e. life force, is in full force during that time making sleeping harder. It also makes interpersonal relationships more heated, there can be more drama all around in life…when you have excess energy/life force/prana in the air, that’s what happens.

    Of course, you could also just have had trouble sleeping independent of the full moon πŸ™‚

    My tips for sleeping better? Come babysit my 4 year old…she’ll wear your butt out πŸ™‚

    xoxo

  26. February 22, 2011 2:22 pm

    I used to drink Sleepy Time tea quite often–it really did help! Glad you slept better πŸ™‚

  27. February 22, 2011 6:21 pm

    I really love that you wrote about sleeping tips! I swear more sleep would solve all my problems!

  28. February 22, 2011 8:32 pm

    It’s SO frustrating when you try to go to sleep and then you can’t. and then you just get frustrated. it’s a viscious cycle.

  29. February 22, 2011 11:09 pm

    Oatgurt makes my world go round. Or at least gets me out of bed in the morning after a bad nights sleep! I have trouble falling asleep, too, so don’t worry, you’re not alone. I’m also in college and I think that has a lot to do with it. Some things you just can’t help.

  30. February 24, 2011 4:52 am

    Your breakfast looks gorgeous! I have the same problems falling asleep…always ALWAYS thinking of what my breakfast will be! If only I could train my brain to go to sleep and THEN dream about the possibilities!

    I love sipping chamomile tea before bed and I have one of the best pillows ever…memory foam! Ahhh!

Trackbacks

  1. feeling quarky « Peanut Butter and Jenny

Leave a comment