Skip to content

STS take two

February 21, 2011

This weekend made me smile so wide 🙂

Between Gingie time, family time, and a few belated birthday presents – the past few days couldn’t have been more perfecto. Although slightly uneventuful, the weekend was consumed with a lot of love, a lot of hugs, and most importantly, a lot of grocery shopping with mom’s credit cards. What more could a girl ask for?

Since I don’t have too much to talk about, then, let’s do the Seven Thing Sunday thaaaang.

~~

1. Meal: pumpkin soccakes with maple coconut frosting

2. At home spa sessions with my mom


My hands have been super dry and cracking as of late, despite upping my fat intake, lathering myself in lotion every 10 minutes, and wearing mittens religiously to detract from the cold. No such luck. The solution? Coating my hands in a THICK layer of coconut oil, wrapping with seran wrap and then covering them with socks while I sleep. It sounds crazy, I know, but it was actually really cozy and worked WONDERS. My hands felt like a baby’s bottom the next morning 🙂

3. New chobani commercial!

http://multivu.prnewswire.com/mnr/mnr_lib/201002/players/player-single.swf?job=48717

I saw this on air for the first time this weekend and for some reason I got a little emotional. I think it’s awesome how much Chobani has built itself up!

3. Movie: The Social Network.

Gingie and I watched this Friday night and it seriously rocked. I’d heard a lot of hype about it before but wasn’t sure how entertaining a movie based on facebook could but, but it was so scandalous! I have to admit, though, that I was slightly taken aback my Brenda Song London Tipton’s sexually explicit scene. What kind of example is she setting for dear Zach and Cody?

Oh – and a reader pointed this out a few months ago and I would have to totally agree, Andrew Garfield is definitely my brother’s long lost twin – which I suppose would make him my brother too – which I suppose means I can’t marry him. Wah.

Picture blurred to salvage homegirl’s privacy.

4. Blog discoveries: The Daily Garnish.

Apparently I live under a rock. I don’t know how I never came across this page before but now I’m addicted. I literally spent my morning stalking her life and recipes. (I mean that in the least creepy way possible)

5. New cup and saucer set from TJmaxx.


I can’t wait to use this with breakfast tomorrow 🙂

6. Crave

Park Guell Dress from Modcloth.

7. Workout: Cindy Whitmarsh’s incredible abs 2 video. My tummy muscles hate me right now. They’ll thank me later.

~~

What are some of your favorite things from this week?

17 Comments leave one →
  1. February 21, 2011 1:43 am

    Love that dress! Some of my favorite finds this week were chili lime chicken burgers from TJ and skinny cargo pants!!

  2. February 21, 2011 2:20 am

    I’d say reading this blog on my couch in PJ’s on my Sunday night was a fave of this weekend! Other than that, it was cooking enchilada soup and baking super healthy apple cinnamon muffins 🙂

  3. February 21, 2011 2:43 am

    Yay! I’m so glad you had a great weekend at home. I love Emily’s blog. It’s one of my favorites!

  4. February 21, 2011 2:50 am

    I was just at Marshalls, spent a good hour in the home accesssories/dishes area, thought of you the whole time, and bought a few things. To be posted tomorrow.

    I love Emily/Daily Garnish. Such a sweet girl with a great blog.

    And i love your saran wrap/coconut oil trick! Yay for smoooooth hands! Whatever works girl!

  5. Meagan permalink
    February 21, 2011 2:54 am

    I love this post!

    I have been loving Pineapple Chobani, which I finally found at a Target near my house! IT ROCKS!

    Also, I’m reading the book “My Fair Lazy” by Jen Lancaster and it is HILARIOUS! I highly recommend it! It’s all about her “addiction” to reality TV (which I totally suffer from…)

  6. February 21, 2011 3:30 am

    Love that dress, and TJ MAXX I always buy kitchen stuff there or Marshalls, such great deals!

  7. Emily permalink
    February 21, 2011 3:35 am

    The weather for sure! We almost reached 80 in SC and it just made the week of classes a litttttle bit more tolerable. Also, I went to Savannah, GA! Such a fun city to go out in. I was looking for Paula Dean, hoping to take a shot with her, but alas, she was a no show. Did pass her restaurant though! Swoooon.

  8. February 21, 2011 3:37 am

    baking cookies, baking banana bread, buying things at whole foods, having jamba juice… oh and def the social network! I watched it on friday too 🙂 twiiiins 😉

    and kung fu panda last night. lol.

  9. February 21, 2011 3:54 am

    you don’t live under a rock, i just found daily garnish about a week or two ago. crazy love that blog!

  10. Michelle @ Give Me the Almond Butter permalink
    February 21, 2011 4:02 am

    I love your breakfasts. I love the fact that there is someone equally or more obsessed with breakfast than i am. haha

  11. February 21, 2011 4:05 am

    #3 is just one of the many reasons why you are so ridiculously adorable. Thanks so much for rooting us on. You’re just as much a part of our journey- you’ve been there with us the whole way! Thanks for your continued support. 🙂

    -E

  12. February 21, 2011 5:15 am

    Hrm, I’ll have to give that coconut oil moisturizer a go. This Colorado dryness is always in need of a remedy.
    Favorite things from this week: the weather.

  13. February 21, 2011 11:21 am

    must. make. that. coconut. cream. Looks amazing!!
    Sounds like you had a great weekend 🙂 I’m off to slather my hands in oil and wrap them in saran wrap, now, though. I was starting to think I had reptilian heritage with how dry my hands are this winter :X

  14. February 21, 2011 12:57 pm

    That tea cup is too cute!! TJ Maxx has the best stuff ever!

    Im glad your hands feel better now! What a great idea your mom had to do that ; )

    I am loving garbanzo bean flour and plan on making your pumpkin socca pancakes soon, loving the amazing dinner my lover took me to Friday night, and just loving that its almost spring!

    Love u! xoxo

  15. February 21, 2011 1:07 pm

    Have you seen the Chobani commercial with the blonde girl in it yet?? It’s Stephanie from Cookin Fanatic!! I was so excited when I saw that a blogger was actually ON TV. You have to watch for it 🙂

  16. February 21, 2011 2:09 pm

    Between yesterday’s grey shirt and that dress I’m going to start stalking your closet (in a non creepy way)

  17. February 21, 2011 3:26 pm

    So glad you found the my site, and I’m happy you are enjoying it. 🙂 And I am LOVING that modcloth dress! Too cute.

Leave a comment